Class Lists

I got my class list today and I’m not sure how I feel about it.  My problem is that I teach future fourth graders in summer school so I get a taste for what’s coming.  I know I have some doozies on my list so now I get to spend the next two weeks figuring out the best way to deal with certain behaviors these children have (i.e.  I supposedly have to keep sharp objects away from one kid and approach another calmly and try to get said child into the hallway).  Now, I take pride in the fact that I’ve been told that I handle the “troubled” kids very well, but it seems like I get quite a few each year.  I can deal with one or two, even 3 if I have to, but last year I had 5-6 depending on the day and who got their medicine.  This year doesn’t look like that many, but I still have my concerns.  On an up note, I seem to have a large quantity of well behaved, well performing students as well, maybe they’ll rub off on the other kids.

3 responses to this post.

  1. That’s too bad about your class list, maybe you’ll be pleasantly surprised with their progress throughout the year. I have quite a few rough ones on my list this year too. I’m kind of nervous about the new grade and the new school too…

    Reply

  2. I’m sorry, that’s a big bummer. But you are special and that’s why you’re good with the special kids… wait, did that sound insulting? It was supposed to be a compliment!

    Reply

  3. How is school going? I’m dying to know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

