It’s been awhile…

Well I haven’t written a post in over a month and I apologize to the three people who read this.  I have been busy.  Now, I will admit that there were times here and there that I could have written, but my state of mind was not the best.  I did not want this blog to be a place where I came to gripe about how lousy things were.  So, I have been ridiculously stressed out about work, I’m not the only one.  I know we are a bunch of females, but I have not seen this many people in tears about this job ever.  Luckily things are getting better.  The higher ups have decided that making us constantly test the kids and then record all the data, and then analyze all the data in addition to writing lesson plans, teaching lessons, solving problems, doing our regular testing, grading papers and forcing us to use only the materials they spent a lot of money on might have been a bit of overload.  We have now been given permission to teach the kids the way we know is best.  Also, some of the more experienced teachers had a heart to heart with some of us, and I love that they say this, “younger” teachers and told us to stop spending our entire Sundays at school planning.  It really does make a difference when you give yourself a two day weekend.  I have to admit that I did go into school to do some grading today, but I was only there 3 hours and I chose to grade in my classroom instead of home.

Also this weekend was the Turner family reunion.  We used to have one every year, many times in Florida, but as we got older it didn’t happen as much.  It’s sad to say, but when the older generation started to pass away it seemed like the funerals took the place of the reunions.  Anyway, my Grandpa’s family got together this weekend at my Aunt Sue’s.  My uncle Bob came up from Florida, he is my grandpa’s oldest brother, and his son John came down from Chicago with his family.  There are more of Bob’s kids and grandkids throughout the country that couldn’t make it.  We spent Saturday playing games like washers, ladder golf, and wiffle ball.  My cousin Patrick and I took his kids and nephew’s on a hike through the woods ( I got burrs all over me), we celebrated my mom’s 60th birthday and my grandma’s 80th birthday, and then we finished the night off with a big bonfire and smores.  The next day we went to the Chicken dinner at my grandma’s church and took the traditional Turner family reunion picture on the church steps right next to the tree that my grandpa planted for my grandma on their 35th wedding anniversary. Overall a pretty enjoyable, stress free weekend.  Next weekend is my sister’s bridal shower/bachelorette party.  I get the feeling I won’t be as stress free next Sunday.

Here are some pictures my cousin Megan took this weekend.

3 responses to this post.

  1. looks like funsies!

    Reply

  2. I’m glad the higher ups are improving…I’m sure that has to be so frustrating! I’ll send my happy thoughts your way!

    Reply

  3. Posted by thorntonr on October 12, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    that’s what I like to see… big fire!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

