Freedom=boredom

I had my first free weekend since, I think, summer this weekend.  I was very excited, I was going to get a lot done.  I was going to enjoy this completely free weekend.  I was bored out of my mind today.  I did get a lot done on Saturday.  I cleaned the basement, did all of my laundry, caught up on tivo, did the dishes, read an entire book, went to bed at 10:30 on a Saturday night.  Yes, I could have cleaned my room and bathroom, but let’s not get carried away.  Today I got up at 8am and went into school to grade papers, as grades are due for progress reports this week.  I could have graded at home, but I like grading at school.  The teachers are lucky enough to have a key to the building so we can go in whenever we want.  I like to go in, pop in a DVD and work (I have recently been grading while watching Veronica Mars).  I finished my grading around one and then went home to enjoy my relaxing, work free weekend.  At about 3 I started calling my friends who lived nearby to see if they wanted to do something.  I found an old movie that I love, Peyton Place, on Turner Classic Movies and that wasted three hours of my day.  My point, if you haven’t already guessed, is that I was bored out of my mind.  I was extremely restless.  It didn’t feel right not having anything to do.  I realize that many people would cherish this, and I’m not complaining.  It was just weird.  Have I become so busy, that I freak out when I have nothing to do?  Hmmm, something to ponder.

Leave a Reply

