Happy 4th

img_0621This weekend I got to experience for the first time trying to juggle multiple family functions on the same day.  Since I have never dated a boy I deemed worthy of introducing to the whole family I never had to worry about where I would be on family days.  This year we were invited to a gathering at my family’s house as well as a gathering at the bf’s family farm.  The bf had family in town from out of state and I had never met his extended family so we made the decision to do his family thing.  Luckily my family thing started at 3 and his started around 5 so we were able to go to my parents’ house for about an hour and a half and the bf got to meet my sister and her husband.

We then drove the 30 minutes to the family farm.  As we drove up the really long lane I see a mass of people just standing and watching our approach.  My already tenuous grip on my nerves then slipped a notch.  (A little something about me:  I may be a teacher, but I have this social anxiety problem when it comes to people I don’t know.  I tend to freak out in groups of stranger.  I have affectionately dubbed this my “stranger danger” mode, so needless to say this added even more stress to the already stressful “meet the family” scenario).  It took me awhile to warm up, but his family was really easy to hang out with.  His mom even gave him trouble for leaving me sitting alone while he threw away our dirty plates.  His aunts and grandma made it a point to include me in their conversations and his grandma even took me on a tour of the garden.  Overall it ended up being an enjoyable evening.  I think the next time there is a family gathering it will be even easier.  Who knows, maybe someday I might even get to the point where I don’t feel nervous at all.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynn on July 12, 2009 at 4:03 am

    Stranger Danger! Oh, how well I know that one! I am really proud of you for getting outside your comfort zone and meeting the bf’s fam! And a family farm, he has to be awesome! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

