If you drink beer…

So let me start off by saying I don’t drink beer.  That being said, over the past year I have become very educated about beer and its wide variety of brewers and flavors.  Why, you ask, would a non beer drinker suddenly become so interested in the beverage?  Well, back in February I started dating my wonderful boyfriend, Joey.  Turns out he likes beer.  Now, I realize that this is not uncommon among red blooded American men, but it turns out that Joey had taken his enjoyment of beer to the next level.  He had a website where he and a couple friends reviewed different beers once a week.  He was in contact with many craft brewers across the country and they were sending him free samples of their beer to review on this website.  Turns out Joey knows his stuff and is quite good at giving his opinion of a beer in terms the average person can understand.  He is also really good at figuring out what a person likes and then finding new beer for them to try.  He has done this with my dad.  After a few conversations with him about what he liked Joey started bringing different types of beer with him whenever we visited for my dad to try.  At Christmas I overheard my dad commenting on how Joey has now gotten him into drinking all these different types of beer that he would have never tried before.  I have seen this type of thing happen over and over.  I have seen it happen with strangers in the grocery store (one guy didn’t know what he was getting into when he happened to ask Joey what he recommended).

Unfortunately the beer reviews for the website are on a indefinite hiatus, they haven’t filmed an episode since September.  Having been witness to how much Joey likes to share his love of the craft beers (sorry Joey if that isn’t the correct term) I have been playing with an idea for awhile.  I thought, wouldn’t it be great if Joey started a blog about the beer that he drinks.  The thing is Joey is a great writer as well as a great talker, this was something that I knew he would do well.  I finally broached the subject yesterday.  I told him about wordpress and how it was free.  He seemed on board with the idea and sat down to create his blog.  Turns out he did have a lot to say.  His first review is of Rogue’s Yellow Snow IPA.  I read it, and even though I can’t stand beer, I think it’s pretty good.  I, of course, got all excited and started talking about how all the different beer magazines could find it and he could then become a professional blogger.  He is just looking at this as another way to share his opinion…so far.

The point of this post is…if you drink beer you should check out his site, Drink Outside the Box, you never know what new brews you may discover.

One response to this post.

  1. A NEW POST?! Say WHAAA?! The least I could do is go check out Joey’s blog… even though I am probably the one person who will never like beer. NEVER, I say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

